To Silence

writing

I am not plain, you protested.

And the words remained with me.

The songs I played, the music I heard

The voices, the notes, the verses were all you

– echo of your voice

– facets of your being

And I had this overwhelming desire

To put pen to paper

And sketch you

With words

To immortalize you

On paper

I drew the locks…the curls that you so harshly tie up at work.

I drew the smile which illuminates your face.

I drew the willowy tall frames.

But that is as far as I got

The words seeming so facetious.

I was disappointed

And wondered why I can’t play with words any longer.

And then the realizations dawned

And I smiled to myself

Because I remember

That I

Am a silent lover.

A lover of silence.

Leave a Reply

